top of page

Prague, Czech Republic 06. 18-21. 2016

Initially I had booked my trip to Prague using a wrong credit card, which was declined and I decided to book another trip. To my surprise the night before my original flight I got a confirmation text saying to check in online for my flight the next day. Immediately I thought there must be some sort of mistake. The next morning I called customer service and they confirmed my flight from London to Prague was confirmed but my flight back did not go through. My flight was in 7 hours. I found a hostel, booked my flight back, and tossed my clothes in my duffle bag before running out the door to catch my flight. This is the definition of a last minute trip!

As I landed in Prague, I was greeted by fireworks from my window seat. What a welcoming! Since I had limited time before leaving London I had no idea how to get from the airport to my hostel. Thank god for wifi in airports! I arrived at my hostel doorstep well past midnight. The receptionists was surprised to see someone checking in so late but all I needed was a bed for the night. Both me and the hostel employee were exhausted, so we laughed and shared kind exchanges of stories before I hopped off to bed. That night I slept in one of the most comfiest bunkbeds in a hostel ever.

The next morning I checked out of my hostel and ventured down the road to another hostel I would be staying at for the rest of my trip. After dropping off my belongings I found a small independent cafe to have brunch. I had arranged a photoshoot with a model based in Prague that evening, and some time beforehand to explore the city. After walking around, getting to know the metro system, I headed to meet my model. The weather got worse but cleared up eventually, and my model stood me up. Angry and frustrated that someone wasted my time especially if I could of been doing something else I headed back to my hostel. As I lay in dorm room annoyed, I chatted up some local backpackers in my dorm. We all decided to hit the hostel bar. There was me, a Aussie named Kim and another girl from California. The three of us joined another group playing cards. I think they were quite surprised at my chugging beer skills and so was I! That night quickly progressed and embarrassing but fun memories were made.

Never and I mean never does it work out when you say to yourself that you will wake up for sunrise to go photograph the city with the morning light after a night of drinking. Attempted this for 2 days in a row, no luck. I'm big on waking up early to beat the tourist crowd and you really should not be in bed past 11am when in a new country, but sometimes it acceptable. The following morning me and the girls went into the city, at this point I was a pro on how to get to major landmarks and how to use the metro, basically I was a tour guide to the girls haha. We went and saw the oldest working Astronomical Clock in Europe, Old Town Square, Charles Bridge, John Lennon Wall and left my own go to inspiring travel quote on the wall. (Pictured in the gallery) That afternoon Kim took us to a traditional czech restaurant where we had czech dishes and beers brewed locally. One thing I love about Eastern Europe other than the history and food is how cheap everything is, 1 euro beers? who can say no to that!

With my last evening approaching in Prague we decided to check out some local bars in town. It was Monday night and bound to be a slow night and hard to find a good place for that fact. We ended up at a quirky cave bar that went on for what seemed miles underground. Along the way we met another American from New York travelling solo just like the rest of us. As we talked and shared what had made us all travel solo I felt what I was doing quite normal just not in the eyes of my peers and family. It's great when you meet people in similar circumstances sharing their own story. I guess the only thing that separates me from the rest of the average solo traveler is my age. I seem to be the youngest always but I definitely don't feel it. When asked my age I hate saying it since I feel defined to it, but all I want to do is say no really I feel 23 not 19. In my eyes age is just a number and what really defines you is your maturity. I have always liked surrounding myself with a older crowd. A lot has to do with how I was raised and the certain things I had to overcome in my childhood and adolescent years. That night was full of in depth conversations and many laughs. Nights like those are the ones I treasure the most when travelling.

The next morning I woke up and headed to the airport and back to London. My trip to Prague was accidental but the best accident I ever made. From Pragues Gothic churches, to its cheap food and beer, amazing people and overall charm I was sold on this place.

After 3 days, 2 buses, countless of trams and metro trips, 2 hostels, 3 friends made, and many photos taken it was time to say goodbye to this lovely country.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page