top of page

A Year in Review

I skipped the whole New Year's post even though this may sound similar. My year didn't end till today. Because a year ago today I set off on a journey and the adventure of my life thus far. I declined my university offers, worked a crappy sales job, saved money and got a work visa. My mom thought I was crazy, and that this would never happen. But I seem to get an idea in my head and never let it go till I accomplish it.

So here I was standing at the airport saying goodbye and moving to London, England. My life packed in a suitcase and I was excited, not scared and terrified like everyone thought I was. I wanted to leave a place that I was starting to feel comfortable with and didnt feel like home anymore to me. I knew that my decision was right, I stand to that till this day.

After a week and half in London I found myself sitting on the steps of a church in Covent Garden, crying after an unsuccessful job interview and thinking maybe this was a mistake. As I was balling my eyes out and people passed me, a couple approached me out of concern. They asked if I'd like to join them for drinks down the street and immediately thought "isn't this the part where every parent teaches their kids to not go anywhere with strangers!". I realized that at this point I had nothing to lose, so I joined them. We ended up in a wine bar in one of the busiest streets in London, even for a Wednesday night. Soon after talking up a storm I told them my story and what brought me to London. My luck turned around that night when they both offered me a job. I still think this was one of the craziest nights and it all seemed unreal. Thanks Amy and Darren xx

One of the main reasons for moving to Europe was being able to travel on my own. So I made a promise to myself, I would go to one new country/city every month till I left.

My first official month in London I departed for Norway. As a birthday present to myself and a few paychecks later I booked a flight to Oslo and Tromso. I had always wanted to see the Northern Lights and I was missing the mountains and snow so it seemed like the perfect fit.

Then I was off to Lithuania, although I had been there a million times as a kid I managed to see new parts of it. My trip was unexpected but I just wanted a home cooked meal and to see familiar faces. I wasn't working enough to cover my rent and support myself in one of the busiest cities in the world. I felt the weights of the world and a little overwhelmed.

At this point it was April and I was living on my co-workers couch. But even slightly broke and tired I couldn't break the promise I made to myself that I would travel no matter what. So a cheap bus ticket landed me in Glasgow, Scotland. Although the trip didn't solve anything at the time it didn't seem to be the point.

My first few months in London were absolutely terrible. I was struggling to find another job (being picky sucks), my depression was at a low, I knew hardly anyone other than 2 people who promised to be there in the beginning but got sucked into their busy lives. I was so close to calling it quits, but I couldn't give the stratification to the people who didn't believe I could do this. So continued on.

In May I headed to Copenhagen, Denmark. With hardly anything but my backpack and some clothes and camera in it. This is where I made a special friend named Lucy and got myself inked for the first time in hostel tattoo shop. June was one for the books. I ended up in Prague by accident and with only a few hours to prepare. Here I met two lovely ladies, Kimberley and Rachael. Later that month I went to Brighton with my friend Ollie to be by the sea and just forget the hustle and bustle of London.

My last months in London were pure bliss. Don't get me wrong there were a few rough patches in between it all. It all felt like it was starting to come together as I was leaving. I was meeting interesting people, going to events like the "Thursday night art crawls" and meeting local and international talents, seeing beautiful places, and finally living a life I always wanted. I didn't want to leave London but it was starting to settle in that for my future I had to return to Canada for my studies. I was finally starting to truly enjoy my time and make a life here. I kept telling myself I needed to do this and hopefully I could come back and stay for a more permanent time. As I knew my expiration date I decided on one final big trip, so July I stayed and worked my butt off.

As August approached I ran off to Iceland for 2 weeks with my best friend Laura. We drove around the island for 9 days, living out of a tent and eating pasta and beans on small burner that seemed to not work about 90% of the trip. Every corner was another beautiful waterfall or mountain top. I've never been amazed by a country's beauty like Iceland's.

With a two day break in between my trips I set off for part 2 to Sweden, Hungary and Spain. First stop was Stockholm, Sweden were my auntie was living. Then off to Budapest, Hungary where I drank tequila on the street with strangers and shared our hearts. I think after living in the grey english skies I deserved to see the sun again so as my last stop I went to Barcelona, Spain. The sun didn't like me there so much so that I still have a great burnt tanline. My friend Susanne that modeled for one of my shoots in Oslo, Norway had just moved to Barcelona for her studies and invited me to stay with her while I was out there. It was a great way to end it.

Upon my arrival to London, I had mixed emotions. Full of heartache from a certain someone but mostly the heartbreak I would soon face as I got on a airplane towards a place I used to call "home". See Toronto just didn't fit those words anymore and I wasn't sure London did either. So where was home? well nowhere. There's some quote out there along the lines that "I have left pieces of my heart in each place I have been to". And as cliche that may sound I couldn't agree more. This adventure had made me crave more of it.

My final days in London were spent with the people I call family and some of my dearest friends. I played tourist for my final day and celebrated my time there. Even though I knew it wouldn't be long till me and London were to be reunited. Just before a few days before University was going to start I left. The first 8 months and a bit of this year were spent in another country living on my own. Forever grateful.

And I was right! Less than 4 month later I came back to London during my holidays. I started the year and ended the year here. I rang in the New Year with Lucy overlooking the fireworks with some wine and then ran through the streets of London to catch our flight to Amsterdam. My first trip of the year. Where will I go next? Well you'll just have to wait and see.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page